Tagged: assessment

Turnitin – workaround for page break rendering issues in Feedback Studio

Turnitin recently introduced a ‘high resolution’ view to the Turnitin Feedback Studio interface.

Turnitin have confirmed a bug where page breaks in some documents are not rendered in the high resolution view, and instead appear as large breaks in the text.

Students may contact you concerned that their documents have been reformatted inappropriately.

To restore the appearance of the page breaks, the current workaround is to disable the high resolution view.

Select the resolution toggle in the bottom right of the viewer and toggle high resolution off.

Page breaks will be properly represented in the normal resolution view.

 

 

eAssessment survival guide for students

If you read one thing before taking your next online assessment, read this: http://www.leeds.ac.uk/vle/students/assess/eassessment/

We cover the common pitfalls of eAssessment and what to do if things go wrong.

Staff: If you have online assessment in your module, encourage your students to read the guide by adding the link.

Comments are welcome, however if you need help or advice please contact the IT Service Desk on tel (0113) 343 3333, via the online contact form, or helpdesk@leeds.ac.uk.

Turnitin service degradation

Turnitin have confirmed that UK users should not be affected by the current service issue.

Users may experience slowness while making submissions or viewing them.

This affects students when attempting to submit and staff when they attempt to view files through Turnitin.

This issue is affecting all Turnitin institutions and their engineers are looking into the issues as a priority.

Comments are welcome, however if you need help or advice please contact the IT Service Desk on tel (0113) 343 3333, or itservicedesk@leeds.ac.uk.

Turnitin/Feedback Studio Issues

Turnitin are currently investigating a widespread issue which may stop staff users accessing or viewing papers in Feedback Studio.

The issue may also be causing slow submission for students. We will update this blog when we have any further updates.

Comments are welcome, however if you need help or advice please contact the IT Service Desk on tel (0113) 343 3333, or itservicedesk@leeds.ac.uk.

Turnitin iPad App update – Access code changes

On Tuesday 13th March, Turnitin released an update for their iPad app which has some changes regarding how you add classes from Minerva into the app.

You may have noticed that it is no longer possible to generate an ‘Access Code’ from within Minerva and you are now prompted to enter an email address. Entering an email address will send a link to your email which will pass permissions into the app.

Any courses added in this way will appear in the app alongside any that you have previously added with an access code and no data will be lost.

What do you need to do?

  • To add new courses to the app, you must have the latest version of the app installed. This is the only version that supports the adding of courses by email.
  • Your email account must be configured on the same device as the Turnitin app for this process to work.
  • You must always enter the app via the button in your email to access new courses.

Is this any easier?

There may be some issues for users if they share an iPad or do not have their email configured but on the whole, the process is very similar. The new method means:

  • You do not have to be in front our your computer entering a 16 digit random code into the app.
  • You can request access to the course when convenient and accept the permission from your email later that day.
  • You can enter the email address of your teaching colleagues so they can have access to the assessments without them getting their own access code.

The app has also had a small redesign and the courses will now appear in the main frame of the app, rather than being hidden away in a menu.

Logging out

REMINDER: Logging out of the app will remove all modules and assessment data from your iPad. If you need to log out, always synch first so you do not lose any marking. You do get a warning message to confirm this BEFORE you log out. There is NO requirement to log out with this update.

IMG_0172

We will be updating our online guidance as soon as possible.

Learning Technologies Team